Ever counted how many times a day you hear someone say the word ‘diet’?

So often I hear people claiming to be on a diet, and generally what they mean by a diet is that they are going to starve themselves over a short period of time in order to get the results they desire. Truth of the matter is, they know as well as I do this is not going to happen or benefit their long term health or appearance.

My belief is that someone’s diet should be sustainable and fun. At the end of the day we all want to enjoy our food. I enjoy my food and drink and that includes beer, cheese, peanuts, biscuits and many more so called fatty foods. I don’t ever plan to give any of these up either, yet at the same time I am more than aware that by eating these foods too often results in feeling lethargic, slow and extremely unproductive.

Perhaps the next time you feel an urge to lose weight and go on a ‘Diet’ you can think about the bigger picture and change your lifestyle. Eat colourful foods, replace processed foods with those that grow in the ground and on plants and trees. Don’t eat less, eat more simple, fulfilling foods – then at the end of the week reward yourself. Have that dessert or bowl of ice cream. I know I most certainly will be.